PDA

View Full Version : ECU choices


StereoInstaller1
07-22-2004, 10:11 AM
Hello everyone
My car is a 1987 325is, bone stock except for loud single 2.25" exhaust, using a high flow generic cat. Runs great, especially for 230,000 miles. Haven't yet done a leakdown or compression test.

The guy who sold me the car has a spare (1990?) ECU, the "173" or whatever the hot set up is supposed to be. I have another buddy who has the Dinan chip for my car.

Neither one is gonna cost me anything. Nada. Nothing. Zilch. You get the point.

Which would you do, and why?
Thanks,
Luke

TriFlow
07-22-2004, 11:12 AM
I dont know anything about the ECU but you will enjoy the chip... Nothing better then free mods..

Digitalwave
07-22-2004, 11:19 AM
I would go with the 173 ECU, and then buy yourself a Jim Conforti chip.

x628x
07-22-2004, 11:30 AM
which ecu is the dinan chip for?

Giga Shadow
07-22-2004, 08:41 PM
Does the newer Ecu have better timing and fuel maps? I don't get it.

modifiede30
07-22-2004, 09:13 PM
All the motronic ecu's are shit if you ask me. I'd take the chip until I could get a standalone management program.

AdamF
07-24-2004, 03:49 PM
The 173 ECU is a Motronic 1.3. Your 153 ECU is a 1.1

The later one has a better idle stabilization and more fault code capability; and is also reguarded to be more reliable.

BoostMe
07-24-2004, 05:15 PM
when did they start using 1.3?

diegom6
07-24-2004, 05:51 PM
The 173 ECU is a Motronic 1.3. Your 153 ECU is a 1.1

The later one has a better idle stabilization and more fault code capability; and is also reguarded to be more reliable.

I checked the connectors and found that are slighty different, will fit directly and work like plug and play :?:

Also, for my Turbo application should be a bit better response, meaning it learns more the form fo your drive ....

AdamF
07-26-2004, 10:30 PM
You can plug a 173 ECU in where a 153 was, yes. I did this on my 325is. Works perfectly.