e30tech.com Forums

Go Back   e30tech.com Forums > Technical > Forced Induction > General Turbo Tech
Register FAQ Members List Sponsors Advertise Shop Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-07-2009, 06:49 PM   #1
jordan325ic

E30: '88 325is turbo
jordan325ic is just really nicejordan325ic is just really nicejordan325ic is just really nicejordan325ic is just really nicejordan325ic is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to jordan325ic
Default jordan's massive turbo writeup - 256k no

Ok, so I have "completed" my turbo project. Though I'm sure this all is common knowledge for most of you, I am writing this because a thread like this would have helped me back when I was a noob. Sometimes, after months or years of being involved in the turbo-e30 scene, I feel that those of us who are familiar take for granted just how daunting and mysterious a task turbocharging was back when we were inexperienced. I just want to outline every component single component of my personal setup and point out any problems that I faced so that others after me won't have to (hopefully). Take my advice, as with any advice you read on an internet forum, with a grain of salt. I am by no means an expert.

Here is an album of about 460 photos taken during the course of the build. Many of them appear in this writeup. It is in psuedo-chronological order.
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v2...ild/?start=440

Why turbocharge?
The m20/m10/m42 are all great engines in their own right. However, due to the brilliance of the factory engineers, there really isn't much you can do, short of a full-on, big-budget race build, to get more power out of these engines. The "bolt-on" route (chip/intake/exhaust) is never going to get you much power.