e30tech.com Forums


Go Back   e30tech.com Forums > Technical > HVAC
Register FAQ Members List Sponsors Advertise Shop Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read







Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 12:09 AM   #1
Unearth078
Senior Member
 
Unearth078's Avatar
 
E30: 86 325e, 89 325i, 89 325is, 90 325ic, 87 325is RIP
Location: Bristol PA
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,831
Unearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Unearth078
Default aux fan wiring. trust me, too get this far i searched my ass off.


using a Bosch 4 pin relay, i am trying to get the fan to kick on high, when the low temp thresh hold is hit on a e36 m42 rad switch. I have done all my testing by jumping the gn/bk and bk pins on the temperature switch.

I have given up for tonight due to finding out my switched 12v is staying on after the motor. the fan kicks on when turning off the motor.
If i find the correct switched 12v should i be in business?

Thanks
Mike
__________________
Down to:
89 aw2 332i/4/5 , 97 m3/4/A

Last edited by Unearth078 : 09-10-2010 at 12:28 AM.
Unearth078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Guest Message
Tire Rack - Pure Control
Old 09-10-2010, 01:24 AM   #2
bimmer82
Senior Member
 
bimmer82's Avatar
 
E30: 1989 325i
Location: milwaukee, WI
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 296
bimmer82 has a spectacular aura aboutbimmer82 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I would assume its your 12v source.. Im about to tackle this project tomorrow myself.. I was gonna refer to this for my wiring.. its prolly the same as what yours is just a little more clear..
http://www.spalusa.com/pdf/FRH_SPEC.PDF#view=FitH

Just wondering what 12v source you used??
__________________

RIP: White 87 325is, Black 86 325e
bimmer82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:17 PM   #3
Unearth078
Senior Member
 
Unearth078's Avatar
 
E30: 86 325e, 89 325i, 89 325is, 90 325ic, 87 325is RIP
Location: Bristol PA
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,831
Unearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Unearth078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer82 View Post
I would assume its your 12v source.. Im about to tackle this project tomorrow myself.. I was gonna refer to this for my wiring.. its prolly the same as what yours is just a little more clear..
http://www.spalusa.com/pdf/FRH_SPEC.PDF#view=FitH

Just wondering what 12v source you used??
you have the power block on the passenger side. if you take a voltmeter too it theres always 12v there.
__________________
Down to:
89 aw2 332i/4/5 , 97 m3/4/A
Unearth078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 02:41 PM   #4
NoScoE30
Contributing Member
 
NoScoE30's Avatar
 
E30: 130 cubic inches of fury in a late model
Location: Az
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,411
NoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Why dont you just move the pins on the temp switch?
__________________

You heard it here first folks.
Beware, for I may have an extreme level of sarcasm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XKXXKXe30
Mitch nosco is a hottie with nice man hands
NoScoE30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 03:23 PM   #5
Tchao
Contributing Member
 
Tchao's Avatar
 
E30: 91' 318is M50nv
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,490
Tchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond reputeTchao has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Tchao
Default

^ exactly.

Just hotwire the two temp's together, so if the low kicks in it goes to the same wire as the high.

Or you can just remove the resister to get full speed either way.
Make sure you upgrade the fuse on the low-side to the same as high...30amp iirc.
__________________
Tchao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 04:46 PM   #6
NoScoE30
Contributing Member
 
NoScoE30's Avatar
 
E30: 130 cubic inches of fury in a late model
Location: Az
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,411
NoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

nooooo, just switch the pins in the connector.
__________________

You heard it here first folks.
Beware, for I may have an extreme level of sarcasm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XKXXKXe30
Mitch nosco is a hottie with nice man hands
NoScoE30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 12:06 AM   #7
Unearth078
Senior Member
 
Unearth078's Avatar
 
E30: 86 325e, 89 325i, 89 325is, 90 325ic, 87 325is RIP
Location: Bristol PA
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,831
Unearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to allUnearth078 is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Unearth078
Default

you guys mean use the stock wiring? just switch the temp pins instead of black to red on the fan (resistor removed like in the diagram). black on fan to brown(ground) and just cap red?

im sure i could do this, but i really wanted to make it its own circuit.
anyone oppose the relay way except for the 'less grief' method?
__________________
Down to:
89 aw2 332i/4/5 , 97 m3/4/A
Unearth078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 11:24 AM   #8
NoScoE30
Contributing Member
 
NoScoE30's Avatar
 
E30: 130 cubic inches of fury in a late model
Location: Az
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7,411
NoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond reputeNoScoE30 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

no on the temp switch connector switch the two wires that activate the high/low speed relays. If you have the low temp switch on, then it will activate the high speed relay. No sense in adding more stuff that will be lower quality than the stock wiring.
__________________

You heard it here first folks.
Beware, for I may have an extreme level of sarcasm.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XKXXKXe30
Mitch nosco is a hottie with nice man hands
NoScoE30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 11:31 AM   #9
samiam3356
Contributing Member
 
samiam3356's Avatar
 
E30: 325i
Location: SEC Country
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,868
samiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond reputesamiam3356 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

This one?
__________________
My Build Thread BMW Google Community

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris325ix View Post
how much are we talking here? an extra inch? that would be a big difference.
samiam3356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Guest Message
Tire Rack - Pure Control
Old 09-11-2010, 04:45 PM   #10
MrEricT
24v and 5lug swapped :)
 
MrEricT's Avatar
 
E30: calypso 90 325i
Location: Dirty Whore, PA
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,123
MrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond reputeMrEricT has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to MrEricT
Default

Yeah, just flip the pins on the sensor. You didnt tell me thats what you were trying to achieve yesterday... haha. I thought you were just trying to hook up an electric fan.
MrEricT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 AM.






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.